“Woking” around

Standard

Two years ago I was forced upon taking a Chinese cooking class. Learning the art of “woking” ;), making egg drop soup, and learning about all those little extra ingredients that are REALLY in chinese food. None the less, I don’t remember much. One thing I do remember: fresh vegetables are important. As is putting cold oil in a cold pan; then heating it up. Sounds simple I guess.

The other night my mom called me and said I would need to make dinner, she said there was defrosted beef and a TON of surplus veggies from the garden….. Nothing was pre-prepped (aka, soaked or sprouted and ready to roll for dinner) Not good. So the first thing that came to mind was…stir fry. Oh but wait, I need steak for that…or do I? Nah, I don’t.

It’s probably been done, but I thought it was a cool idea, so I set out to make ground beef stir-fry and it worked!!! 🙂 So I have a very simple recipe to share.

Ground Beef Stir-Fry

  • 1 lb of local ground beef
  • olive oil
  • pepper, garlic
  • any surplus of veggies you have! (I used squash, snap peas, cabbage, onions, bell peppers, and carrots)
  • soy sauce, naturally fermented of course
  1.  Put cold oil in cold wok. (enough to coat the bottom of the pan, a generous amount…it’s called stir-FRY for a reason 😉 )Turn on heat and get it hot, NOT SMOKING! Do it slowly.
  2. Add onions, peppers, and beef. Mash up and brown the beef.
  3. Next add your garlic (I used two cloves), pepper, and all the veggies. Now star stirring it!!! And then I usually throw all of the real rules of making a good stir fry (quick and fast sorta thing) and I just steam it and put the lid on, but that’s just me. 😉

I served..UNSOAKED rice on the side bottom of the stir fry. Normally we soak our rice, but we failed to plan ahead. Tisk tisk. Happens to the best of us 😉  And serve it with some soy sauce if you like that sorta thing!

have a GREATTT rest of this week. Already Wednesday!! 😀

peace.

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

